Alumni Spotlights and Events | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

Alumni Spotlights and Events

Alumni Spotlights and Events

Media Mention May 2, 2017

Georgia 2018: Abrams files paperwork to run for governor

LBJ School alumna Stacey Abrams has filed paperwork to run for governor of the state of Georgia, taking the first step toward a bid for the state's highest office.

Read more
Stacey Abrams
News April 27, 2017

Research from the LBJ School Informs Raise the Age Bill

LBJ School faculty, students and alumni are working to transform the juvenile justice system.

Read more
LBJ School alumnus and Texas Representative Gene Wu at the Texas Legislature
News April 20, 2017

Alumni Highlight: Virginia Cumberbatch (MPAff '16), Director, UT Community Engagement Center

"At LBJ, I had the ability to be a leader at the school, to be part of committees and groups that have real impact, such as the diversity and inclusion committee."

Read more
Alumna Virginia Cumberbatch, MPAff '16
Feature April 6, 2017

Paul L. Leventhal Fellowship Program Endowment

Supporting graduate fellowships is a key method in attracting the most capable and talented students to our school. Graduate fellowships are one of the core pillars in upholding our outstanding reputation and maintaining our status as a world-renowned public affairs program.

Read more
Paul Leventhal
News March 13, 2017

Former refugee and LBJ School alumna bridges diplomacy with culture

Amara Chhin, a 2016 graduate of the Master of Global Policy Studies program, was born at the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees camp. Now she's an intern at the United Nations Office at Geneva.

Read more
LBJ School alumna Amara Chhin at the United Nations
News March 9, 2017

LBJ School Alumna, Mastercard Exec Speaks at SXSW 2017 on Ending Global Hunger

As president of Mastercard’s Center for Inclusive Growth, LBJ School alumna Shamina Singh (MPAff ’97) is one of four panelists set to discuss “Disrupting Global Hunger: Moonshots for Humanity” at this year’s South by Southwest (SXSW) 2017 Conference and Festivals.

Read more
LBJ School alumna Shamina Singh
News March 9, 2017

LBJ Faculty, Alumni, Students Participate in SXSW 2017

The ten days in March devoted to the annual SXSW Conference and Festivals are an exciting time to be in Austin. Find out how the LBJ School community, from faculty to students and alumni, are engaged at SXSW 2017.

Read more
SXSW Registration banner
Media Mention March 5, 2017

Harris County Democrats tap new chair in tight race

LBJ alumna of the Executive Master in Public Leadership program Lillie Schechter was named Harris County's Democratic Party chair. She was sworn in on March 5, 2017. Photo courtesy Lindsay Ellis / Houston Chronicle

Read more
LBJ School alumna Lillie Schechter is sworn in as Harris County's Democratic Party chair.
Feature February 27, 2017

Alumni Highlight: Matthew Randazzo (MPAff '03), CEO of the National Math and Science Initiative

Matthew came to the LBJ School with an interest in education and social policy. He appreciates that while he was able to study education policy, LBJ gave him a breadth of knowledge and tools for his career, especially his ability to learn.

Read more
Alumnus Matthew Randazzo with then-Vice President Joe Biden
News February 9, 2017

Alumni Throwback: LBJ Alumna, Georgia House Minority Leader (D - 89) Stacey Abrams Delivered the 16th Annual Barbara Jordan National Forum Keynote

LBJ Alumna (MPAff ’98) and House Minority Leader for the Georgia General Assembly (D –89) Stacey Abrams delivered the 16th Annual Barbara Jordan National Forum Keynote in February 2012 at the LBJ School of Public Affairs at UT Austin.

Read more
Stacey Abrams speaks at the 2012 Barbara Jordan National Forum