Alumni Spotlights and Events | Page 7 | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

Alumni Spotlights and Events

Alumni Spotlights and Events

News September 4, 2019

#TribFest19: LBJ faculty, alumni and students hit the stage, audience and social media

The LBJ School is a proud sponsor of the 2019 Texas Tribune Festival, an annual buzzworthy event on politics and public policy in the heart of downtown Austin. The 2019 festival, which will take place in downtown Austin Sept. 26–28, will include panels and keynotes with leading policymakers including House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) and former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Susan Rice.

Read more
LBJ students Kat Sisler, Annie Henson, Terri Parlett and Lucia Montes at the 2018 Texas Tribune Festival
Feature August 18, 2019

Giving back to the future: Mario Espinoza (MPAff/MBA '87) has a message for fellow alumni

"As soon as I stepped onto the Forty Acres, I began bleeding orange," said LBJ School alum Mario Espinoza (MPAff/MBA '87). "UT has such an amazing reputation and I was humbled to be part of this life-changing university."

Read more
Mario Espinoza (MPAff/MBA '87)
June 17, 2019

2019–20 LBJ Mentorship Program registration now open

We are excited to invite you to participate in the 2019–20 LBJ School Mentorship Program, which provides LBJ students with an opportunity to be coached by an alum who works in the industry or policy area in which the student has an interest.


Read more
LBJ School Mentorship Program 2019-20
News June 7, 2019

LBJ dean's reception brings together alumni, 2019 DC Fellows in nation's capital

On June 6, the LBJ School and LBJ Washington Center hosted the Dean's Annual DC Alumni Reception. The event gives LBJ alumni living in our nation's capital an opportunity to reconnect with fellow alumni, LBJ faculty and staff, and friends of the school, and to welcome the 2019 LBJ DC Fellows. It is also a time to celebrate the accomplishments of members of the LBJ Washington Center community.

Read more
Angela Evans welcomes alumni and the 2019 DC Fellows
News May 6, 2019

Policy on Purpose: Policymaking in theory and practice

Austin Smythe (MPAff '80), who served as policy director to House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) from 2015 to 2019, visited the LBJ School for a special Admitted Students Weekend session of the Dean's Distinguished Leaders Series.

Read more
LBJ School Dean Angela Evans (left) with Austin Smythe (MPAff '80) during his visit to the school
News February 7, 2019

2019 LBJ School Alumni Weekend dates announced

The LBJ School and LBJ Alumni Board are proud to announce the second annual Alumni Weekend, continuing the tradition of hosting those classes celebrating their 5th, 10th, 15th, etc. reunion. The LBJ School Alumni Weekend reunion takes place one weekend early each fall semester, this year beginning on Friday, Sept. 20 and going to Sunday, Sept.  22.

Read more
2019 LBJ Alumni Weekend
News February 7, 2019

LBJ students, alumni and state officials connect 'Under the Dome'

LBJ alumni, students and government officials and their staff gathered in the Texas State Capitol on Feb. 5 for the LBJ School's biennial networking reception, Under the Dome.

Read more
State Rep. Gene Wu (MPAff '04) speaks to Under the Dome audience
News November 8, 2018

November 2018 midterms: LBJ School alumni win big

Six of the eight LBJ School alumni who ran for local and state office in the November 2018 general election emerged victorious, and the outcome of one remains undecided as the votes are counted in Georgia, home to what is now one of the nation's most-watched gubernatorial races.

Read more
LBJ School alumni who ran for office and won in 2018: DeBeauvoir, de Ferranti, Eckhardt, Goodwin, Hardy, Wu
News November 6, 2018

Meet the LBJ alumni running for office in 2018

LBJ School alumni will appear on ballots across the country on Nov. 6 as they vie for seats at the local and state level. One candidate is positioned to become the nation's first black female governor, four are incumbents seeking re-election, and all of them have diverse professional backgrounds and are carrying on the LBJ legacy of public service.

Read more
The LBJ School alumni who ran for public office in 2018: Abrams, DeBeauvoir, de Ferranti, Eckhardt, Emmett, Goodwin, Hardy, Wu
News October 24, 2018

Call for LBJ Alumni Board member nominations

The LBJ Alumni Board invites any and all alumni to submit nominations, including self-nominations, for new Board members. The roles and responsibilities of Alumni Board members are outlined in the bylaws.

Read more
LBJ Alumni color logo