Shaping the next generation of problem solvers

As a highly ranked public policy school in a Tier I research university, the LBJ School attracts nationally and internationally recognized scholars and experts across a range of major policy areas. They come from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds: engineering, sociology, economics, history, geography and political science. Many have held senior positions as policymakers at the federal (CIA, Department of Defense, Congressional Research Service, White House, etc.), state and local levels. They lead research and dialogue on today’s most salient public policy and management issues. The majority of faculty members listed here have their primary home appointment in the LBJ School of Public Affairs, making them readily accessible to students and research collaborators.


A photo of Herschel "Trey" Thomas, Associate Professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin.

Herschel Thomas

Associate Professor of Public Affairs

Trent Thurman

Trent Thurman

Assistant Dean, Director of Executive Education

LBJ School faculty member Philip Uri Treisman

Philip Uri Treisman

Professor of Public Affairs; Director, Charles A. Dana Center for Mathematics and Science Education

Assistant Professor Delgerjargal Uvsh

Delgerjargal Uvsh

Assistant Professor

LBJ School faculty member Paul von Hippel

Paul von Hippel

Professor of Public Affairs; Associate Dean for Research

Andrew Waxman Headshot

Andrew Robert Waxman

Assistant Professor

Kate Weaver

Catherine Weaver

Associate Professor of Public Affairs

LBJ School faculty member Pat Wong

Pat Wong

Associate Professor of Public Affairs; Associate Dean for Academics