Bryan Davidson Jones

Bryan Davidson Jones, JJ 'Jake" Regent's Professor of Congressional Studies

JJ ‘Jake' Regent’s Professor of Congressional Studies

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Research Areas:
Policy Processes
Models of Decision-Making and Choice
Agenda Setting
Fiscal Policy
Teaching Areas:
Policy Agenda Setting
Government Research and Policy Agenda
Public Policy Analysis

Bryan Davidson Jones’ research interests center in the study of public policy processes, American governing institutions, and the connection between human decision-making and organizational behavior. 
Jones directs the Policy Agendas Project, now housed at the University of Texas. The project is the major resource for examining changes in public policy processes in American national institutions. The project is the model for similar projects in Denmark, France, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Italy, Canada, and other nations. 

Jones has received National Science Foundation Grants totaling more than $2,650,000, and has published articles in the American Political Science Review, the Journal of Politics, the American Journal of Political Science, Policy Studies Journal, and many other professional journals. He has served on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Political Science, the Journal of Politics, Economic Development Quarterly, Governance, Political Psychology, and State and Local Government Review. He has served as President and Vice President of the Midwest Political Science Association, the Executive Council of the American Political Science Association, and President of the APSA’s Organized Section on Urban Politics. In 2003 Jones won the Herbert A. Simon Award for Contributions to the Study of Public Administration, and holds Career Awards from the International Public Policy Association (2023). 
Before joining the Department of Government in 2008, Professor Jones was the Donald R. Matthews Distinguished Professor of American Politics at the University of Washington. Previously, he was Distinguished Professor and Department Head at Texas A&M University, and also taught at Wayne State University and the University of Houston.  He is an Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration. He holds an honorary doctorate from Aarhus University in Denmark. 

Contact Information