LBJ Washington Center | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

LBJ Washington Center

LBJ Washington Center

As the official LBJ School presence in Washington, the center aims to raise the presence of the school and its faculty within the DC policymaking community.

The LBJ Washington Center serves as both the Washington, DC, campus of the LBJ School as well as a new federal policy and research center in the nation’s capital. Currently, DC-based courses of the DC Concentration in MPAff and MGPS are held in the Washington Center’s physical facility.

LBJ Washington Center Grand Opening

On September 20, 2016, the LBJ Washington Center celebrated its grand opening at its home in the historic Greyhound Suite and Lobby at 1100 New York Avenue in the nation’s capital. Policy and political dignitaries, LBJ School alumni, members of the national media, and invited guests joined the LBJ Washington Center in honoring its principal supporters with a star-studded program featuring the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, Paul Ryan; Democratic U.S. House Leader Nancy Pelosi; former Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate, Tom Daschle; and our own Dean Angela Evans.

Others in attendance included U.S. Representatives Gene Green, Eddie B. Johnson, Sheila Jackson Lee, and Marc Veasey. MPAA President and former U.S. Senator Chris Dodd; former U.S. Ambassadors Jim Blanchard, Lloyd Hand, James Jones, and Lloyd Olson; LBJ Foundation Chair Larry Temple; and LBJ School Advisory Board Chair Joe O’Neill, as well as President Lyndon B. Johnson’s daughters, Luci Baines Johnson and Lynda Bird Johnson Robb, also attended.

The program honored key friends and alumni of the LBJ School community with inaugural awards. Leader Pelosi presented the LBJ Washington Center’s Founders Award to Ben Barnes; Dean Evans presented the Dean’s Award to Robert Allbritton, POLITICO’s CEO and founder; Leader Tom Daschle presented a Distinguished Federal Policy Alumni Award to Carmel Martin ’94, the Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress; and Speaker Ryan presented a 2016 Distinguished Federal Policy Alumni Award to his policy director, Austin Smythe, ‘80.