LBJ at Texas Tribune Fest 2018: Leading the dialogue on stage and online | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

The LBJ School is proud to have been part of the 2018 Texas Tribune Festival Sept. 27-29, which gathered nearly 400 speakers from around the state and the country to Austin to discuss, debate and share ideas about some of the most important issues of the day in more than 100 interactive events.

A team of 30 LBJ School students formed the heart of the festival's social media coverage, live-tweeting and commenting on events throughout the weekend, using the hashtag #LBJatTTF. Scroll through the hundreds of posts on Twitter and check out a sampling of some of the team's work below.

As a sponsor, the LBJ School presented a student breakfast; trivia night with MSNBC and NBC News national political correspondent Steve Kornacki, author of "The Red and the Blue: The 1990s and the Birth of Political Tribalism"; and an incredible roster of LBJ-affiliated speakers including alumni and faculty:

  • The Honorable Ben Barnes, former Texas lieutenant governor; former speaker of the Texas House of Representatives; LBJ Foundation Board of Trustees
  • Julián Castro, former secretary of Housing and Urban Development; former mayor of San Antonio; LBJ School Dean’s Distinguished Fellow and Fellow of the Dávila Chair in International Trade Policy
  • Robert Chesney, director of the Robert Strauss Center for International Security and Law; co-founder of Lawfare; Charles I. Francis Professor in Law and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at The University of Texas School of Law
  • Dana DeBeauvoir, Travis County clerk; LBJ alumna (MPAff '81)
  • Sarah Eckhardt, Travis County judge; LBJ alumna (MPAff '98)
  • Rodney Ellis, Harris County commissioner; former Texas state senator; former Houston city councilman; LBJ alumnus (MPAff '77)
  • James Galbraith, Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations at the LBJ School of Public Affairs; frofessor of government at The University of Texas at Austin
  • Laura Huffman, regional state director, Texas, of The Nature Conservancy; LBJ alumna (MPAff '91)
  • William Inboden, executive director and William Powers, Jr. Chair, Clements Center for National Security; associate professor of Public Affairs at the LBJ School
  • Admiral William McRaven (ret.), former commander of the U.S. Special Operations Command; former chancellor of the University of Texas System; professor of National Security at the LBJ School
  • Stephanie Muth, deputy executive commissioner of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) in Texas; LBJ alumna (MPAff '93)
  • Evan Smith, CEO and co-founder of the Texas Tribune; LBJ School lecturer
  • Victoria DeFrancesco Soto, LBJ School lecturer; faculty affiliate of the Department of Mexican-American and Latino Studies and the Center for Mexican American Studies
  • Mark Updegrove, president and CEO, LBJ Foundation; former director, LBJ Library and Presidential Museum
  • Gene Wu, Texas State Representative (D-Houston); LBJ alumnus (MPAff '04)


The #LBJatTTF team was everywhere during the festival, soaking up the discussions and offering up their own unique takes: