The LBJ School Celebrates Students, Faculty, Staff Dedicated to Inclusive Community | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

On April 11, 2017, the LBJ School of Public Affairs announced the winners of the inaugural Dean’s Advancement for Inclusion Awards. The awards were created to highlight the activities of LBJ students, faculty and staff dedicated to making the LBJ community an inclusive and inviting place to learn and work.

Student award winner Erin Smith is a Master of Public Affairs student who will graduate this May. She has served as a co-chair of the Barbara Jordan National Forum both of her years at LBJ, volunteering her time to plan and execute one of the school’s keystone events. Additionally, as a member of the Graduate Public Affairs Council’s Community Engagement Committee, Erin spearheaded volunteer efforts with Barbara Jordan Elementary School.

Asilee Parkinson, the staff award winner, has served since February 2016 as the administrative associate for the Center for the Study of Race and Democracy. She has played a critical role at the Center, coordinating, facilitating and managing all aspects of their sponsored events.

Faculty award winner Michele Deitch serves as the chair of the LBJ School’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee. In this significant role, she manages subcommittees and the creation of the LBJ School Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan. Additionally, Michele participated in the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement’s Inclusive Classroom Pilot last fall.