LBJ celebrates Class of 2019 in its 48th commencement | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

On Saturday, May 25, 2019, the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs proudly graduated its 48th class of students with inspiring words from Dean Angela Evans, commencement speaker Yamiche Alcindor of PBS NewsHour, and class speaker Wayne Holstine (MPAff '19).

During the ceremony, Associate Dean for Academic Strategies Cynthia Osborne presented the Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation Award for Academic Excellence — awarded to members of the class with the highest grade point average — to Leila Al-Hamoodah (MPAff '19), Madison Gove (MPAff '19) and Garrett Shuffield (MGPS '19). The Emmette S. Redford Award for Outstanding Research went to Sarah Rush (MPAff '19) for her professional report, "Russian Food and Agricultural Policy: How the Country’s Hungry History Shapes its Contemporary Approaches."

Amanda Macune (MPAff '19) announced that the Class of 2019 had raised $2,000 for its gift, the LBJ Lending Library, which would make textbooks and other books available to LBJ students. 

Take a look at some snapshots of the day below. Congratulations, LBJ Class of 2019! We can't wait to see what you do next.