Faculty | LBJ School of Public Affairs | The University of Texas at Austin

Faculty of the LBJ School of Public Affairs

Shaping the next generation of problem solvers.

As a highly ranked public policy school in a Tier I research university, the LBJ School attracts nationally and internationally recognized scholars and experts across a range of major policy areas. They come from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds: engineering, sociology, economics, history, geography and political science. Many have held senior positions as policymakers at the federal (CIA, Department of Defense, Congressional Research Service, White House, etc.), state and local levels. They lead research and dialogue on today’s most salient public policy and management issues. The majority of faculty members listed here have their primary home appointment in the LBJ School of Public Affairs, making them readily accessible to students and research collaborators.

LBJ School faculty member Scott Lilly
Scott Lilly
Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Michael Lind
Michael Lind
Professor of Practice
LBJ School faculty member Martin J. Luby
Martin J. Luby
Associate Professor of Public Affairs
Ji Ma
Ji Ma
Assistant Professor in Philanthropic and Nonprofit Studies
William McRaven Admiral, U.S. Navy retired man dark suit blue tie
William McRaven, Admiral, U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Professor of National Security
Professor of Public Affairs Sheila Olmstead
Sheila Olmstead
Professor of Public Affairs
Todd Olmstead
Todd Olmstead
Associate Professor of Public Affairs
LBJ School faculty member Francie Ostrower
Francie Ostrower
Professor of Public Affairs and Professor of Fine Arts (College of Fine Arts)
LBJ School faculty member Rajeev Patel
Rajeev Patel
Research Professor
Steven Pedigo, LBJ School Professor of Practice, Director, LBJ Urban Lab
Steven Pedigo
Professor of Practice, Director of the LBJ Urban Lab
J. Paul Pope
J. Paul Pope
Professor of Practice; Senior Fellow, Intelligence Studies Project
Heath Prince
Heath J. Prince
Director and Research Scientist, Ray Marshall Center for the Study for Human Resources
LBJ School faculty member Varun Rai
Varun Rai
Associate Dean for Research; Professor of Public Affairs
Lorinc Redei, lecturer and graduate adviser, Master of Global Policy Studies at the LBJ School
Lorinc Redei
Associate Professor of Instruction; Graduate Advisor, Master of Global Policy Studies
LBJ School faculty member Elizabeth Rybicki
Elizabeth Rybicki
Specialist on Congress and the Legislative Process, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress
Dr. Jaganath Sankaran
Jaganath Sankaran
Assistant Professor
Vice Chancellor for Federal Relations Bill Shute
William Shute
Executive Director, LBJ Washington Center
Stephen Slick, clinical professor at the LBJ School; director, Intelligence Studies Project
Stephen Slick
Professor of Public Policy Practice; Director, Intelligence Studies Project
LBJ School faculty member Evan Smith
Evan Smith
LBJ School interim dean David Springer
David W. Springer
Director, RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service; University Distinguished Teaching Professor