Skip Navigation

alumni news

News from Alumni Association Chapters

Austin Alumni Association Chapter

By Ginger Lowry (MPAff ’85) President

photo of ginger lowryGreetings Austin alumni! Spring 2012 was action-packed with local Austin alumni and board member participation in the Alumni - Student Policy Meals, Speed Networking and Interviewing with current students in January, our first Leap Year Network Night at Hugo’s Restaurant and the 2012 reunion at the School. In April and May, the Austin Chapter actively supported local literacy through World Book Night 2012, giving away more than 150 new free “special edition” books to Ascend Austin Learning Center, Austin Children’s Shelter, University Medical Center Brackenridge and the Sims Elementary Adult Learning Program. The Austin Chapter’s annual campaign continues this summer and fall.

Thank you, again, to our 2012 donors. If you have not yet donated, please visit and donate online. Your online donations, processed by Texas Exes on our behalf, come directly to the Austin Chapter to support the Spirit of LBJ Award, career networking events, public policy discussion opportunities and more.

We recognize many of you want to connect from anywhere through social media. We will soon include Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube and Gmail links so you may move easily in and out of the site. The Austin Alumni Association’s Facebook Page is up now and we’re growing our Austin area LinkedIn connections. Log in to Facebook and post your public policy and alumni networking comments, public policy discussions and related photos. Use your mobile devices to find and post event dates, locations and donate online!

We welcomed three new board members this May from the Class of 2012: Jonas Miller and Lauren Oertel. Read the 2012–2013 board biographies here. Also, we welcome incoming GPAC President Garry Davis, Class of 2013!

Mark your calendars for upcoming board member elections and the annual meeting Saturday, June 23, 2012, 1:00-3:00 p.m. at Opal Divine’s Austin Grill, 3601 S. Congress Avenue. Don’t forget to thank retiring board officers Secretary Theresa Gage (MPAff ’01), Vice President Bryan Hadley (MPAff ’07) and Wes Ven Johnson (MGPS ’12), outgoing GPAC president, for their service.

Nominations for the 2012 Spirit of LBJ Award will be accepted through June 30, 2012 for the 2012 Spirit of LBJ Award. The winner will be announced at the Welcome Reception for Austin Alumni Association members and incoming students in August 2012.

Have a great summer!