Skip Navigation

LBJ School Dean Named ‘The Eyes of Texas Excellence Award’ Recipient

Student group recognizes James B. Steinberg, Howard T. Prince, II, for outstanding contributions to student life at University of Texas

Dean James B. SteinbergAUSTIN, Texas-- Dec. 18, 2008-- Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs Dean James B. Steinberg and Howard T. Prince, II, Director of the LBJ School's Center for Ethical Leadership, have each been awarded The Eyes of Texas Excellence Award. Dean Steinberg was awarded for the Fall 2008 semester and Prince was awarded for the Spring 2008 semester in recognition of their outstanding contributions to student life at the University of Texas. Chosen by the student members of The Eyes of Texas, an anonymous campus organization, the award is given to ten deserving UT faculty, administration or staff members each semester.

In naming Dean Steinberg  as recipient of the  Fall 2008 award, The Eyes of Texas organization expressed the following:

“Dean Steinberg, since your arrival at the LBJ School and the UT Campus you have worked tirelessly to improve and strengthen the School and consolidate it as one of the premier programs in the nation. You have embarked in the huge task of transforming the School from its curriculum to its building, while at the same time teaching extremely popular classes and being accessible to students at all times. Thanks for your efforts to improve the life of the students at LBJ and to make the school more accessible to the rest of the UT campus. The LBJ School and the University at large are better because of your work. ...Your unselfish devotion to better the campus community has not gone overlooked. We know you will continue to strive for excellence in your work at The University of Texas, and The Eyes of Texas will continue to be upon you.“