LBJ School Record Spring 1999

Welcome to the hypertext version of the Spring 1999 Record. This version works best with Netscape 3.0 or later.


Getting a piece of the action
LBJ School's proximity to Capitol creates opportunities
Legacy of the 60s
Historic period's influence examined
An Elite Corps
Graduates' sphere of influence widens
University honors Apfel
Owens is first LBJ School governor
Delaney's public service recognized
Goodwin is Outstanding Texas Ex
Hart Black heads Dallas Chamber of Commerce
The LBJ School Experience
Students juggle academics, public service, fun


Visitors Gallery


What's New

LBJ School Advisory Council formed
State of the School address
Dorn named distinguished alumnus
Guide to Texas agencies published
Marshall tribute planned
Co-op donates funds
Record survey results posted



IC2 conference on technology, innovation
Rethinking government in the information age
Medicare proposed for retirees in Mexico
Sowing the seeds for a leadership center
Clinton discusses social security
Ethics conference focuses on public trust
NASPAA team visits School
Post-Hopwood policies analyzed
Diplomats discuss Middle East
Pre-session orients legislators



Alumni Association wins award
Schwab takes new position


Faculty News

Faculty books stir dialogue
UT magazine showcases LBJ School research
Tolo, Thomas get teaching awards
Chapman named to prestigious committee
Sherman is Texan of the Year
Meadows holds Bentsen Chair
Flamm, Auerbach join faculty
Faculty Notes


Student Community

Commencement set for May 22
Five Ph.D. students graduate
Two Journal issues published
Ph.D. students form UT research group
Jordan forum tackles important issues
Four students pass Foreign Service exam
Student Notes


Research in Action

1998-99 Policy Research Projects


Staff Notes

The Record Online

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs
The University of Texas at Austin
Edwin Dorn, Dean

The Record is published for students, faculty, alumni, and friends of the LBJ School. Articles and suggestions are always welcome.

Produced by the LBJ School Office of Publications--Marilyn Duncan, Director

Managing Editor: María de la Luz Martínez

Website Production: Doug Marshall

Staff Writers: María de la Luz Martínez, Rebecca Christie

Go to: The Record Home Page

03 May 99

Comments to