Record Online
A 30th Anniversary Timeline
timeline photo

August 1965
An agreement is reached between President Lyndon B. Johnson and The University of Texas Board of Regents to build two complementary facilities, one a library for Johnson's presidential papers, the other a school of public affairs.

September 12, 1969
John Gronouski, a former U.S. Postmaster General and Ambassador to Poland under President Johnson, is appointed the first dean of the LBJ School by the UT Board of Regents.

September 3, 1970
The LBL School of Public Affairs begins classes with 18 students; more than 250 applied for admission.

May 22, 1971
Dedication ceremonies are held for the LBJ School and the LBJ Library; the keynote speaker is President Richard Nixon.

May 1972
The first commencement ceremonies are held in the East Campus Lecture Hall (later renamed Bass Lecture Hall), with 10 students graduating in the first class; the speaker is Allen E. Pritchard, Jr., vice president of the National League of Cities.

December 4, 1972
President Lyndon B. Johnson addresses LBJ School students for the last time; he dies at his ranch in Johnson City in January 1973

October 1974
William B. Cannon becomes dean.

February 3, 1975
The first issue of the LBJ School newsletter, The Record, is printed.

November 21, 1975
The first Total Institution Follies "layed low all the sacred cows that could be herded into a half-hour performance at the Alumni Center."

February 1, 1977
Alan K. Campbell, dean of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University, becomes LBJ School dean.

April 1, 1977
Alan Campbell resigns the deanship to become head of the U.S. Civil Service Commission, a presidential appointment.

April 25, 1977
Elspeth Rostow, dean of the UT Austin Division of General and Comparative Studies, is named dean of the LBJ School.

August 25, 1977
At President Jimmy Carter's invitation, Dean Elspeth Rostow attends the White House signing ceremony of the Executive Order creating the Presidential Management Intern (PMI) Program.

April 1978
Five second-year LBJ School students are listed in the first group of 250 in the nation chosen to participate in the Presidential Management Internship Program established by President Jimmy Carter. The five finalists are Kenneth S. Apfel, Bonnie T. Fisher, John L. Hall, Lee Solsbery, and Mary Kay Stack.

June 9, 1978
The UT System Board of Regents approves U.S. Representative Barbara Jordan's appointment to the LBJ School. Effective January 1979, after retiring from Congress, Jordan will hold the new Lyndon B. Johnson Public Service Professorship.

February 1983
A reception is held to acknowledge a $500,000 donation to the School's Public Affairs Library from Lew and Edie Wasserman. The donation is to be used primarily for automation.

May 31, 1983
Elspeth Rostow leaves the deanship.

July 1, 1983
Max Sherman, a former Texas state senator and university president, becomes the new LBJ School dean.

Spring 1985
The Graduate Public Affairs Council (GPAC) is established as the LBJ School student governing body.

Fall 1985
The LBJ School hosts the first Governor's Executive Development Program, an intensive training program for high-level state agency officials.

Spring 1988
A three-year grant from the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation funds the new Program in U.S.-Mexican Policy Studies. Professor Sidney Weintraub is director.

Fall 1988
The UT Center for the Study of Human Resources becomes part of the LBJ School. The center was created in 1969 by Professor Ray Marshall, then Chairman of the UT Economics Department.

October 7, 1988
The Perot Foundation of Dallas gives $100,000 to the LBJ School to fund a Barbara Jordan Scholarship Program for four new LBJ School students of outstanding achievement and potential.

January 31, 1989
An organizational meeting is held for the LBJ School of Public Affairs Community Service Organization, a student-led volunteer service group.

April 1989
The first issue of the LBJ Journal is published; founding editors are Tamar Osterman and David Twenhafel.

Fall 1992
The new Ph.D. in Public Policy degree program begins with an entering class of six students.

June 1994
The 21st Century Project moves from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to the LBJ School. Gary Chapman is the director; Professor Susan Hadden is an associate.

February 1995
The LBJ School launches a home page on the World Wide Web. Maintained by the Publications Office, the site contains general information about the school, faculty biographies, descriptions of degree programs, and admissions information.

February 15, 1997
LBJ School students organize the first Barbara Jordan Memorial Forum on Diversity in Public Policy; the forum is intended to reinforce the concept of diversity in the aftermath of the Hopwood decision.

May 31, 1997
Max Sherman leaves the deanship.

Summer 1997
Edwin Dorn, Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness, becomes dean.

Fall 1997
The Texas Institute for Public Problem Solving (TIPPS) is established with a $1 million grant from the U.S. Justice Department.

October 1, 1998
The new LBJ School Advisory Council holds its first meeting. The 28-member council was formed to identify issues related to public affairs, serve as a liaison to the marketplace for graduates, assist in the recruitment of faculty and students, and increase the school's financial resources.

June 15, 1999
An event is held to announce that the Center for the Study of Human Resources is being renamed the Ray Marshall Center for the Study of Human Resources and an endowment campaign is being launched in Marshall's name.

January 18, 2000
The RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service officially begins operations; the event announcing its establishment is held March 2. The center is endowed through grants from the RGK Foundation and Houston Endowment Inc.

Spring 2000
The U.S.-Mexican Policy Studies Program becomes part of the new Inter-American Policy Studies Program, cosponsored by the Institute of Latin American Studies and the LBJ School.

January 2001
The Center for Ethical Leadership sponsors its first international conference on leadership education.

Spring 2001
The Technology and Public Policy Program (tp3) is established to support research and other activities related to technology policy.

September 2001
The Program in Health and Social Policy is created as the umbrella program for social policy research activities at the LBJ School.

May 16-18, 2002
The LBJ School celebrates the 30th anniversary of the graduation of its first class with a three-day gala ( culminating with commencement; former President George Bush is the keynote speaker.

timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo
timeline photo

Contents • Record Home • Publications • LBJ School

May 22, 2002

comments to: