Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained. Read our Web history statement for more information.

Skip to Content

The University of Texas at Austin

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

More LBJ School Graduates Named Carey Fellows

Each year since the Governor Hugh L. Carey Fellowship in Governmental Finance Program began being offered by the New York State's Division of the Budget four years ago, the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs has been proud to announce at least one winner among their graduating class. This year is no different.

Two new LBJ alumni, Peggy O'Shea and Morris Peters have been awarded 2007 Carey Fellowships, which last two years in Albany, New York, and have a salary of $60,000. Fellows are assigned to a particular public policy area that they are interested in and are able to assist with developing and implementing New York's state budget.

During the selection process, fellows submit writing samples, agree to a thorough reference check, and participate in several panel interviews with leaders of New York State's Division of the Budget.

In a letter to the dean of the LBJ School, a fellowship organizer wrote, "Our managers and I were very impressed with the nominees from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. Based upon the caliber of your nominees, it is clear that your school provides a premier educational and professional development experience for students."

Six of the fourteen Carey Fellows that have been chosen since the program began were graduates of the LBJ School. By graduating year, they were:

Class of 2004

Class of 2005

Class of 2006

Class of 2007