blue bar

UT Austin > LBJ School > News

Bobby R. Inman

Inman to Receive UT's Presidential Citation

Admiral B.R. Inman, USN (Ret.), the Lyndon B. Johnson Centennial Chair at The University of Texas at Austin's LBJ School of Public Affairs, has been named a 2006 recipient of the Presidential Citation, the University's highest honor.

The Presidential Citation program was established to recognize the extraordinary contributions of individuals who personify the University's commitment to the task of transforming lives, and who have brought great distinction to the University and helped the institution to achieve its mission.

Inman graduated from the University in 1950 and began a long distinguished career in the U.S. Navy where he served as Director of the National Security Agency and as Deputy Director of Central Intelligence. He was named an adjunct professor at the University of Texas at Austin in 1987 and was appointed to the Lyndon B. Johnson Centennial Chair in National Policy in August 2001. In 2005, he served as Interim Dean of the LBJ School.

Inman's continued service to the LBJ School, the University, and the wider-University community has been remarkable. He is a member of the Commission of 125, the UT Development Board, the Texas Exes Public Affairs Committee, the UT Task Force on Funding, the Executive Council of UT, and the UT Computer Sciences Advisory Committee.

A generous supporter of philanthropic causes, Inman personally helped fund an imaginative new initiative at the LBJ School, the Summer Leadership Scholars Program. This program brings undergraduates from underrepresented communities and groups to the LBJ campus with the goal of both exposing students to public service careers and helping recruit promising young people to the School.

As a recipient of the Citation, an Endowed Presidential Scholarship will be awarded in Inman's name for the 2007 school year.

Inman and the other awardees will be presented with the Presidential Citation and medal at "The University at 123" anniversary observance on September 29. The other recipients are Professors James Ayres, Department of English, and George Sudarshan, Department of Physics.

Related Material

Bobby R. Inman Biography

© Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs
P.O. Box Y
Austin, TX 78713-8925

30 July 2006

Comments to:

Safety and Security
Copyright, Privacy, and Accessibility Information