Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained. Read our Web history statement for more information.

Skip to Content

The University of Texas at Austin

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

May 28, 2008

Vernon Jordan
Jordan Highlights LBJ School Commencement

A powerful, moving speech by American civil rights icon Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. capped off a successful 37th convocation ceremony for the LBJ School on May 17 in the Bates Recital Hall. Eighty-two graduates were on stage to hear Jordan cite President Johnson’s strides for civil rights in the face of overwhelming opposition as an exemplar for the graduates to follow in their own careers in public service. The commencement ceremonies also included awards for students Hilary Aten, who received the academic award for achieving a 4.0 grade point average, and Michael Hoffman, who was honored with the Redford Award for the best Professional Report. A moment of silence was observed in memory of Dean Elspeth Rostow and Lady Bird Johnson, both of whom passed away in the past year. Ian T. Brown presented remarks on behalf of the class, while the GPAC Commencement Committee Co-Chairs Jennifer Crow and Ari Witkin announced that the Class of 2008 had raised nearly $25,000 for their gift to the School supporting the Elspeth Rostow Memorial Graduate Fellowship.

Congratulations to all our graduates!! For pictures and the video of the ceremony, visit the convocation web site at: http://lbj.utexas.edu/news/spring2008/commencement.php

fort hood visit
Students visit "Ironhorse Brigade" at Fort Hood

Led by LBJ School Research Associate Dougald Macmillan II, a contingent of 25 students visited the 1st "Ironhorse" Brigade Combat Team, 1st Cavalry Division at Fort Hood on April 8. The students toured a number of the routine training sites to learn how soldiers hone their basic skills, including Humvee roll-over drill training and the Engagement Skills Trainer 2000. Students shared "chow" and conversed with several soldiers from the brigade about their experiences in Iraq and what it means to be a soldier. "My knowledge of the military comes from what the media portrays; there is no better way to know what a soldier is all about than talking to them first hand," said LBJ School Student Michelle Lalonde. MacMillan, himself a retired Lt. Colonel in the U.S. Army, began organizing the trips to expose LBJ School students to soldiers and the military to aid in their future careers in public service.

Rapoport Fellowship Dinner
(l to r) William H. Cunningham, former President of the University of Texas; Larry Temple, President, LBJ Foundation; James B. Steinberg, Dean, LBJ School and Bernard Rapaport, LBJ Foundaton Board member at a recent dinner, in honor of Bernard and Audre Rapoport.
New Rapoport Professorship in Health and Social Policy Announced

A $1 million donation from the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Foundation will create an endowed Bernard and Audre Rapoport Professorship in Health and Social Policy at the LBJ School. Widely known for his philanthropy and dedication to social justice, education, and health and human services organizations, Rapoport, who has long been influential in Texas politics, is the founder of the American Income Life Insurance Company in Wacoa member of the LBJ Foundation Board of Trustees, and a former University of Texas System Regent "Bernard’s generosity only strengthens the LBJ School's commitment to health and social policy," said Dean of the LBJ School, James B. Steinberg. "He deserves our most sincere thanks for his and Audre’s generosity." In appreciation of the Rapoport's generosity, the LBJ School and the LBJ Library and Museum recently hosted a dinner in their honor. In attendance were the Honorable Ben Barnes, former Lt. Governor of Texas; the Honorable Lyndon Olson, former Ambassador to Sweden and a former Congressman from Texas; and Larry Temple, President of the LBJ Foundation.

For more information, visit the event web site at: http://lbj.utexas.edu/news/spring2008/rapoport_release.php

Franic J. Gavin
Professor Francis J. Gavin Awarded Nobel Institute Senior Fellowship

Professor Francis J. Gavin, Tom Slick Professor of International Affairs and director of studies for the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law, has been awarded a Nobel Institute Senior Fellowship for the Institute's 2009 spring term. Professor Gavin, whose specific fellowship will be from May 1 to June 30, 2009, joins a small, select group of distinguished, published scholars invited to participate in the Institute's research program that will focus its efforts in 2009 and 2010 on the causes and consequences of nuclear proliferation.

For more information, check out the web site at: http://lbj.utexas.edu/news/spring2008/gavin.php

Washington Alumni Reception Scheduled for June 24

The annual Washington D.C. Area Alumni Reception, on Tuesday, June 24 at 5:30 p.m. at the Rayburn House Office Building. Invitations with detailed information about the event are forthcoming. For more information, contact Kennard Wright at Kennard.Wright@austin.utexas.edu.

D.C. Alumni Chapter Launching Summer Speaker Series

The LBJ School's DC Alumni Chapter launched its Summer Speaker Series at the Archer Center on May 20 with a talk from Ken Apfel (Class of '78). Apfel, who currently teaches at the School of Public Policy at the University of Maryland taught at the LBJ School from 2001-2006, served as Social Security Administration Commissioner from 1997-2001, and was a senior staffer for the Office of Management and Budget, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and former U.S. Senator Bill Bradley. Future speakers will include former Texas Lt. Governor Ben Barnes, former U.S. Rep. Martin Frost, former FDA Commissioner Mark McClellan, and U.S. House Minority Budget Committee Staff Director and former LBJ School alumnus Austin Smythe, among others. For upcoming dates and details, check the alumni news section of the LBJ web site.

Alumni Newsmakers

Accenture Manager, Carron Scott Whittaker (Class of '94), was recently recognized as Corporate Person of the Year by the National Forum for Black Public Administrators. The award honors Whittaker’s commitment to mentoring Accenture staff and forging public and private partnerships to improve life for the community

Governing Magazine recently featured John Coleman (Class of ‘07) for his work on sustainability in Fayetteville, Arkansas. View the entire article on Governing.com

Ivan Ashford (Class of '94), vice president and manager for Comerica Bank's Texas Community Reinvestment Act Department, will be honored as one of Dallas' top corporate executives at the inaugural 2008 Minority Business Leaders event hosted by the Dallas Business Journal.

About News@LBJ

"News@LBJ" is a regular electronic newsletter distributed by the Dean's Office to keep faculty, staff, and students informed about news and events at The Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. We encourage everyone to share their news, events, and suggestions with us via e-mail to kerri.battles@mail.utexas.edu.