Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained. Read our Web history statement for more information.

Skip to Content

The University of Texas at Austin

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

June 8, 2007

Regents Approve $15M for LBJ School Renovation
LBJ School fountain

On May 9, The University of Texas System Board of Regents approved spending $15 million to renovate and upgrade the LBJ School. The approval is a substantial step forward toward reconceptualizing the current design of the School by nearly doubling classroom space, expanding opportunities for formal and informal interaction, and creating more integrated technological capacity across the School. The floor plan will allow faculty and staff of common interests and function to be brought together in clusters to create a dynamic energy of discussion, collaboration, and collegiality. Now with the Regents’ approval, this summer Assistant Dean Jeffery Patterson will begin working with the University’s Office of Facilities and Planning to finalize the architectural drawings and draft a schedule of work. The School will also be focusing upon ways to ensure that the building's use of energy is minimal. When possible, this will include installing cooling, heating, and lighting systems that conserve energy; incorporating structural features for recycling and conservation; and achieving efficient, sustainable floor plan designs and mechanical systems. As that process moves forward, alumni, faculty, staff, and students will be included in the design deliberations to discuss the concepts more fully.

Bob Schieffer
Commencement 2007 Features Schieffer and 93 New Alumni

CBS News Chief Washington Correspondent Bob Schieffer delivered a heartfelt and moving commencement address to the LBJ School Class of 2007 on Saturday, May 19. The graduating class contained 92 students receiving the master’s degree in public affairs and one student receiving her doctorate in public policy. In addition to Bob Schieffer as the commencement speaker, the Class of 2007 also heard from their fellow classmate Alison Hart, who gave the class speech. Special recognition was given to those graduates who had shown a particularly high standard of academic excellence during their time at the School by completing with a 4.0 grade point average. Associate Dean for Academics, Robert Wilson, presented the Lyndon B. Johnson Foundation Award to Jennifer Deegan, Eric Larson, Andrew Nelson, Michael Reffett, Kipyn Reyher, and Benjamin Siegel. The Emmette S. Redford Award for Outstanding Research was presented to Jayme Meyer by Professor Richard Schott. (Read More)

Calling all Alumni! Update Your Directory Info and Get a LBJ SchoolClock!

The LBJ School is very proud of its alumni and wants to make sure we maintain a strong communications link with you-especially keeping you up to date on current events and giving you a chance to connect with one another. We can do that only when alums either send us updated information or go onto the LBJ School Alumni Web Site to keep their entry in the Alumni Directory current. For a limited time, Alums who update their information on the Alumni Directory will receive a commemorative digital travel clock with the LBJ School logo embossed on the outside! You can either send an email to Diana Busler at dbusler@mail.utexas.edu or simply go to the Alumni Directory Web Page.

Keep in touch with your friends and colleagues at the LBJ School!

Five Alumni Nominated for Distinguished Public Service Award

Nominations for the 2007 Distinguished Public Service Award are in and the selection committee faces a difficult decision. Five strong candidates are nominated for this year’s award: Dr. Rafael Fernández de Castro (M.P.Aff. 1986), Don C. Green (M.P.Aff. 1985), Brad Livingston (M.P.Aff. 1991), John O'Brien (M.P.Aff. 1981), Frank Sturzl (M.P.Aff. 1976). Established in 1989, the Distinguished Public Service Award is presented each year to an LBJ School graduate whose career and public service record best represents the values on which the School was founded. The nominees will be considered based on public policy contributions, community engagement, demonstrated leadership, and commitment to the LBJ School and its mission. The winner of the Distinguished Public Service Award will be announced at a reception sponsored by the LBJ School Dean’s Office later this summer. (Read More)


Dr. Rafael Fernandez de Castro

Dr. Rafael Fernández de Castro

Don C. Green

Don C. Green

Brad Livingston

Brad Livingston

John O'Brien

John O'Brien

Frank Sturzl

Frank Sturzl

LBJ School Students Recognize Faculty for Outstanding Teaching

On May 2, the GPAC Brown Bag and Faculty Recruitment Committees in connection with the LBJ School Dean's Office sponsored the annual presentation of the LBJ School Faculty Appreciation Awards. The awards recognize faculty members across six different categories, including most engaging teaching style, most valuable class, and best new professor. Award nominations are selected by the students of the LBJ School, and winners are chosen by the number of nominations they receive. (Read More)

Victoria Rodriguez
Rodríguez Named One of "20 Elite Women" by Hispanic Business Magazine

Victoria Rodríguez, vice provost and dean of The University of Texas at Austin Graduate School, has been named one of the country's top 20 elite women of 2007 in the April 2007 issue of Hispanic Business Magazine. Dr. Rodríguez, who is also the Ashbel Smith Professor at the LBJ School, is listed in the magazine among some of the country's most influential Hispanic women and has been added to the list of outstanding women to watch this year. (Read More)

In the Media. . .

LBJ School Professor Cynthia Osborne’s article, “Work, Welfare, and Young Children's Health and Behavior in the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study” was published in the May 23 issue of Children and Youth Services Review. Co-authored with Jean Knab, a research associate at Princeton University, the article challenges the assumptions of welfare-to-work provisions of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996. Instead, the authors argue that low-wage, unstable employment may not significantly increase a mother's resources and may introduce higher levels of stress into the household. (Read More)

Professor Alan Kuperman’s article “Genocide: The Cases of Rwanda and Sudan,” was featured in the May 22 issue of the SperoNews. Kuperman discusses the relationships between oppressive governments and genocide, including relationships one might not readily identify. (Read More)

LBJ School master’s student Leah Nedderman published an op-ed in the May 7 Austin American-Statesman, “Cinco de Mayo Becomes Just an Advertising Stunt” which offers a reminder of the real reasons for celebrating Cinco de Mayo, beyond just a simple opportunity for celebration. (Read More)

About News@LBJ

"News@LBJ" is a regular electronic newsletter distributed by the Dean's Office to keep faculty, staff, and students informed about news and events at The Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. We encourage everyone to share their news, events, and suggestions with us via e-mail to kerri.battles@mail.utexas.edu.