Skip Navigation

alumni news

The Great Society Page (Alumni Notes)


Billy Hamilton (MPAff 1975) was selected to serve as executive vice chancellor and chief financial officer of the Texas A&M University System in August.


George Slover (MPAff 1981) is a senior policy counsel at Consumers Union. He is an elected member of the American Law Institute and serves on the advisory board of the American Antitrust Institute.

Angela Atwood (MPAff 1987) is chief executive officer of Family Eldercare, Inc. She presented the key findings from the Mayor’s Task Force on Aging Report and Recommendation 2013 to the Austin City Council and later at a press conference on August 30. 


David McNierney (MPAff 1991) is director of strategy and corporate development at Dell in San Francisco.

Stephen Niemeyer (MPAff 1992) was elected president of GlobalAustin for 2013-2014. Read a February 1, 2013 profile by here.

Mee Moua (MPAff 1994) is president and executive director of Asian Americans Advancing Justice in Washington, D.C.

Margo Weisz (MPAff 1994) worked with Professor Jacqueline Angel, in supervising students for a policy research project funded by St. David’s Hospital. The Mayor's Task Force on Aging Report and Recommendations 2013 also recognizes the student research team.

Bergan Casey (MPAff 1997) manages public relations and public affairs information campaigns for Crossnore Group in Austin.

2000 to 2004

Christopher Reynolds (MPAff 2001) passed away on July 18. Read the obituary here. His widow is LBJ school alumna Gabriela Monzon Reynolds (MPAff 2001). They have one daughter, Meghan.

Photo of Suzanna Sennetti
Suzannah Sennetti
Suzannah Sennetti (MPAff 2001) passed away on August 8 after a brief illness. View the Washington Post obituary here.

T.J. Costello (MPAff 2003) was selected to serve on the 14-member commission that is tasked with drawing Austin City Council districts. Nearly 550 people applied to serve on the commission. Read more here.

2005 to 2009

Taja Beekley (MPAff  2007) is the manager of the Asian American Resource Center for the City of Austin. The Center is scheduled to open this autumn.

Travis  Allen (MPAff 2008) joined Enbridge Energy as a senior regulatory analyst in July.

2009 to present

Jennifer Diamond (MPAff 2009) accepted a new position as a consultant at Serco, Inc., based in Reston, Va., in July. Jenny is coordinating intake process logistics and standard operating procedures related to the Affordable Healthcare Act implementation.

Susan Peterson (MPAff 2009) is the green initiatives director with Foundation Communities in Austin.

Tope Eletu-Odibo (MPAff 2012) is an auditor in the Office of the City Auditor for the City of Austin.

Tanya Lavalle (MPAff 2012) was featured by the Hogg Blogg in August, as the recipient of the Hogg Mental Health Policy Fellow Grants program. She is a mental health policy fellow at Easter Seals Central Texas.

Class of 2013

Jenny Achilles (MPAff 2013) accepted a position as a program officer at TG in Round Rock.

Izzah Akram Malik (MPAff 2013) is a consultant with the World Bank in Washington, D.C.

Bryce Bencivengo (MPAff 2013) is the community outreach coordinator for Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization in Austin.

Chelsea Brass (MPAff 2013) accepted the position of program manager of community and collaborative projects at the Texas Health Institute.

Jason Brooks (MGPS 2013) was selected as a Presidential Management Fellowship. He began his rotation with the U.S. Forestry Service as a recreational planner in the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest in Everett, Wash.

Matthew Clifton (MPAff 2013) was hired as an audit investigator at the City of Austin. He works for the Investigative Division of the Office of the City Auditor.

Matthew Cornelius (MPAff 2013) is a fellow with Third Way in Washington, D.C.

Saba Danawala (MPAff 2013) was hired at the Centre for Disease Dynamics, Economics, and Policy in New Delhi. She is a research analyst and project coordinator.

Rebecca De La Garza (MPAff 2013) accepted a position as vice president, federal and state advocacy with the Austin Chamber of Commerce.

Daniel Dillon (MPAff 2013) is a social science research associate with the Child and Family Research Project (CFRP) at the LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Ben Ellinor (MPAff 2013) accepted a position as a budget analyst with the City of Austin.

Gustavo Fernandez (MGPS 2013) is a national security research intern with the McCain Institute for International Leadership in Washington, D.C.

Katrin Greisberger (MGPS 2013) is an operations analyst with the World Bank in Washington, D.C.

Alex Trebeck and Jared Hall
Jared Hall (MGPS '13) enjoyed a remarkable seven-episode run on Jeopardy! "The course work in the global policy studies program exposed me to a wide range of different subjects, including politics, economics, and history - all topics that receive a lot of emphasis on Jeopardy! Not only did my studies at the LBJ School broaden my academic horizons, but they also sharpened my intellect and my ability to think on my feet – skills which were fundamental for success on the show."

Jared recently began working for The University of Texas at Austin. He is a research associate in the College of Education, in the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education. Read more about Jared's Jeopardy! experience here. Read this profile by The Horn.

Elizabeth Joseph (MPAff 2013) was hired as a senior program manager at Highland Advisors, LLC., in Ridgeland, Mo.

Alyssa Legler (MPAff 2013) accepted a position in the public sector division of Deloitte Consulting in Austin.

Julie Lindsey (MPAff 2013) was hired at the Texas Legislative Budget Board. She also was elected to serve on the board of the LBJ School Austin-Area Alumni Chapter.

Anna Lipton Galbraith (MPAff 2013) is a research associate with the Child and Family Research Project (CFRP) at the LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Mayra Marquez (MPAff 2013) is a consultant specializing in local and state government for Deloitte.

Rhea Racho (MPAff 2013) is a project coordinator in advocacy campaign research with the American Cancer Society. She is based in Dallas.

Brooke Russell (MPAff 2013) accepted a role as project manager consultant with AidData in Williamsburg, Virg.

Alisa Schackmann (MGPS 2013) accepted a position with the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. as a senior research assistant.

Emily Shelton (MPAff 2013) was selected as the 2013 leadership fellow for the Port of New York and New Jersey.

Vanessa Stotts (MPAff 2013) continues to work as a program coordinator for the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin. She works for Subiendo, The Academy of Rising Leaders.

Jodie Vanyo (MGPS 2013) was awarded a Fulbright Public Policy Fellowship for 2013-2014. She will work with the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Management in Malawi.

Niki Virani (MPAff 2013) accepted a position with Deloitte in Washington, D.C. She consults in the strategy and operations division.

Laura Wells (MPAff 2013) continued in her role as director of development for The University of Texas at Austin School of Social Work.

Photo of Moody's LBJ School alumniAt a recent meeting at the Dallas office, these five LBJ School alumni and current Moody's Investors Service employees took time out for a photo.
From left to right: Joshua Levine (MPAff 2012), Heather Correira (MPAff 2013), Sarah Jensen (MPAff 2011), Andy Hobbs (MPAff 2009) and Ryan Hazlett (MPAff 2013).