Skip Navigation

alumni news

Highlight on Alumni Volunteers

Austin Alumni Policy Dinners

LBJ School students again coordinated policy-themed meals that paired students with local alumni. Alumni hosted students at their homes or in restaurants and talked about shared policy interests and careers. These informal gatherings allow students to learn about the real-life work of fellow public policy professionals. In addition to teaching students about the variety of careers open to public policy graduates, the informal networking generated a number of internship and employment offers.

New alumna Jeanie Donovan (MPAff '13) directed the Policy Dinners Program, with assistance from many students who made arrangements for the 23 individual meals. Twenty-nine alumni and 70 students participated. Spencer Jones (MPAff '14) will take on the role of director in 2013-2014, and is working with the Alumni Board's career committee in piloting an alumni-intern policy dinner program in Washington, D.C., this summer.

Interested in participating in the 2013-2014 Alumni/Student Policy Dinner Program? Former dinner participants will receive an e-mail later this summer. If you would like to host a meal, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs today!

Thank you to the 2013-2014 alumni participants!

Priscilla Aquino-Garza (MPAff ’07)
Rowland Baldwin (MPAff ’90)
Michael Blood (MPAff ‘05)
Courtney Brown (MPAff ‘83)
Blaine Bull (MPAff ’82)
Leigh Byford (MPAff ’08)
Jessica Cassidy (MPAff ’09)
Jacob Cottingham (MPAff ’11)
Daniela De Luna (MPAff ’10)
Eva De Luna Castro (MPAff ’97)
Erica Ekwurzel (MPAff ’07)
Sarah Farley (MPAff ’77)
Jason Fialkoff (MPAff ’09)
Heidi Gerbracht (MPAff ’05)
Vikki Vondracek Goodwin (MPAff ’91)
Laura Huffman (MPAff ’91)
Allison Kaplan (MGPS ’11)
Jessica Kingpetcharat-Bittner (MPAff ’02)
Lewis Leff (MPAff ’07)
Jane Maxwell (Ph.D. ’97)
Anne Nappa (MPAff ’87)
Stephen Niemeyer (MPAff ’92)
Lauren Oertel (MGPS ’12)
Michael Reyna MPAff ’82)
Kristen Reynolds (MPAff ’05)
Kimberly Springer (MPAff ’04)
Susanne Tetzlaff (MPAff ’93)
Shelby Tracy (MPAff ’11)
Carron Whittaker (MPAff ’94)